Mogadishu(Mogadishu24)-The President of Djibouti, Ismail Omar Guelleh, on Wednesday, arrived in Johannesburg, South Africa, to participate in the Brics Business Forum with African leaders.

The President was accompanied by a high delegation, including the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Djibouti’s ambassadors to South Africa and Kenya, Djibouti’s UN representative, and several special presidential envoys.

This conference aimed to discuss the potential economic cooperation between African countries and Brics member states – Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa.

President Guelleh said that this forum will strengthen mutual partnerships between the Brics member states and the government of Djibouti, as well as the entire African continent.

“I am pleased to attend the BRICS Summit in Johannesburg to discuss global economic cooperation. An opportunity to promote fruitful partnerships for our country and our region,” said HE. Ismail Omar Guelleh, Djibouti’s President.

Speaking at the summit, China President Xi Jinping reaffirmed Brics’ commitment to reforming global governance and focus on practical cooperation for economic reform.

“No matter how the International situation changes, the BRICS’ commitment to cooperation since the very beginning and the common aspirations will not change,” stated Mr. Xi Jinping, Chinese President.

“All Brics countries should help reform global governance to make it more just and equitable and bring to the world more certainty, stability, and positive energy,” he added.

President Xi Jinping added that Brics countries should concentrate on practical cooperation, particularly in fields like the digital economy, green development, and the supply chain, while bolstering economic, trade, and financial exchanges.

BRICS has become the most growing economic bloc, becoming a threat to the US led dominance.

For months now, BRICS has been actively working to expand its member states, with various nations expressing their interest in joining the bloc.

BRICS member states have formally announced that they will be accepting Argentina, Iran, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, and the United Arab Emirates into their bloc.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *