Arusha(Mogadishu24)-The Federal Republic of Somalia has officially become a member of the East African Community after receiving approval from the EAC Heads of State through a vote conducted at the 23rd Ordinary Summit, making it the 8th member of the regional bloc.

Somalia was admitted as the 8th member of the East African regional bloc by the heads of the member states.

“The EAC Summit of Heads of State admits the Federal Republic of Somalia as the 8th Member of the EAC in accordance with Article 3 of the Treaty for the Establishment of the EAC,” reads the official statement from EAC.

Somalia’s President Hassan Sheikh Mohamed and Minister of Planning, Hon. Mohamud Abdirahman Beenebeene, were present at the summit.

“Today marks a significant milestone in our historical quest for economic prosperity, as #Somalia officially joins the East Africa Community. This historic milestone is due to the sheer hard work, persistence, and pragmatic leadership of our President, H.E. @HassanSMohamud,” said Somalia’s Ministry of Planning on X.

Its membership in the regional economic community, EAC, is expected to play a vital role in Somalia’s state-building efforts, economic growth, trade partnerships, infrastructural development, regional peace, and security, promoting intergovernmental relations and maritime access.

This will also give Somalia access to representation at the regional level in the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA).

The decision to admit Somalia has been reached after several negotiations and verification processes chaired by Mrs. Tiri Marie Rose from the Republic of Burundi. Dr. Abdisalam Omar, Special Envoy of Somalia, served as the lead negotiator for Somalia throughout these processes which started in 2012.

Also at the summit, South Sudan’s President H.E. Salva Kiir Mayardit assumes the chairmanship of the East African Community, taking over from the President of Congo, Évariste Ndayishimiye.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *