Garowe(Mogadishu24)-Puntland State President, Said Abdullahi Deni, along with Vice President Ahmed Karaash and Speaker of the Parliament Abdirashid Yusuf Jibril Awl, reached an agreement on Monday to address the ongoing dispute over the 2024 election.

A joint statement from the Puntland presidency confirmed that the leaders had reached a consensus on key issues related to the election dispute.

They decided to maintain the committee appointed by the President for approving and resolving disputes within the House of Representatives of the Puntland Government.

The three leaders unanimously agreed that the upcoming 6th Parliament should adhere to the procedural framework set by the 5th Parliament, scheduled to conclude on December 31, 2023.

According to the statement from the presidential office outlining the outcomes of the meeting:

  1. The committee appointed by the President for dispute resolution in the House of Representatives’ election will remain unchanged.
  2. The procedures governing the formation of the 6th Parliament will follow the established process of the 5th Parliament, whose term expires at the end of 2023.

After the agreement, the President, Vice President, and the speaker met with the committee on the approval and resolution of the House of Representatives’ election.

The leaders urged the committee to fulfil its responsibilities transparently, following the traditional procedure for electing the 66 members of parliament.

The committee was further directed to undertake its roles and responsibilities to conduct a transparent and fair vetting and approval process.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *