Mogadishu(Mogadishu24)-The Somalia’s Lower House of the Federal Parliament on Saturday approved the agreement of the country’s membership into the East African Community during their session.

The Federal Republic of Somalia has officially become a member of the East African Community after receiving approval from the EAC Heads of State through a vote conducted at the 23rd Ordinary Summit, making it the 8th member of the regional bloc.

“The EAC Summit of Heads of State admits the Federal Republic of Somalia as the 8th Member of the EAC in accordance with Article 3 of the Treaty for the Establishment of the EAC,” reads the official statement from EAC at the time.

“On November 24th, 2023, the EAC Summit in Arusha approved the request of the Federal Republic of Somalia to join the regional bloc. During the summit, the current Chairperson of the EAC and President of the Republic of South Sudan Salva Kiir Mayardit hailed the move, terming it as a ‘‘major boost, particularly in regional and continental trade under the Africa Continental Free Trade Area – AfCFTA”, Information Minister, Daud Aweis Jama said in a statement.

He said that President Hassan Sheikh Mohamud expressed optimism for stronger regional cooperation, a realization of the collective aspirations of East African citizens, and a new era filled with possibilities. 

“Somalia becomes the 8th member of the East African Community after Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, South Sudan and the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC)”, Jama added.

“A heartfelt appreciation to the Somali Federal Parliament MPs for their pivotal role in the ratification of the East African Community (EAC) treaty. This marks the beginning of a new era of regional integration, cooperation, and development. Together, we are stronger. Thrilled to witness a historic moment as Somalia is welcomed into the (EAC) after over a decade of dedication and lobbying”, Dr. Mohamed Osman, National Economic Advisor to the President said on X post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *